Monmouth County Criminal Theft Defense Attorney
Defending NJ Clients Charged with Theft
Being charged with theft in the state of New Jersey is a very serious matter. Theft covers a wide range of criminal activities, including theft of property, theft of services, theft by fraud, theft by deception and much more. Even a shoplifting charge can have serious repercussions. Theft crimes are based on the value of the property or the amount of money stolen, for the most part. A conviction of a theft charge could give you a criminal record and the potential for incarceration. That said, being convicted of theft could impact your ability to get a job, rent housing, and other opportunities. It is important to have an effective team of attorneys exploring legal defenses to avoid a theft charge or lessen the impact. Contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. to discuss your case, help you make educated decisions on your legal matter, and effectively defend your future.
Consequences of a theft charge in New Jersey
Being convicted of a theft charge depends greatly on the facts of the case. A second-degree crime, a felony in other states, applies to the following circumstances:
- The stolen possession is worth more than $75,000
- The act is through extortion
- The stolen property is a controlled dangerous substance exceeding a kilogram
- The property is a person’s benefits under federal or state law regarding healthcare with a value more than $75,000
- The stolen property is human remains
A crime of the second degree comes with very serious ramifications, including jail time up to 10 years. A crime of the third degree is slightly less serious. A charge of this crime applies to the following circumstances:
- The amount or value stolen exceeds $500 but is less than $75,000
- The property stolen is a motor vehicle, firearm, vessel, boat, horse, domestic companion animal, or airplane
- The property is a controlled dangerous substance is valued less than $75,000 or undetermined but less than a kilogram.
- It was in breach of fiduciary obligation
- It was a threat not amounting extortion
- It is an item of public record or instrument of the law
- The property is a person’s benefits under federal or state law regarding healthcare with a value less than $75,000
- The property was for research
- The property was prescription blanks (physician’s pad)
- The property stolen is an access device or a defaced access device
A crime of the third degree also comes with serious penalties, including up to 5 years in prison. Theft of property between $200 and $500 will be considered a fourth-degree crime and comes with jail time up to 18 months. If the amount or value is less than $200, the charge will be a disorderly persons offense.
Contact an effective criminal defense attorney
A theft charge is serious. One can face jail time and the impact of a criminal record. Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. has been a legal resource for New Jersey clients for many years. With the experience you deserve, our firm will explore any way to fight a conviction. If you need a law firm to assess your case, guide you through your legal options and passionately fight for you, contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. for a consultation.