Monmouth County Traffic Violations Attorneys
Defending NJ Clients Facing Traffic Violations
Traffic violations are common occurrences in the state of New Jersey. Often, people who act unlawfully while driving are charged with violations that can impact their driving record, escalating their insurance premiums, and subjecting them to various fines. Some of the many violations one can face include speeding, reckless driving, cell phone violations and driving without a license. If you have been issued a ticket for a traffic violation, contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. for a consultation to discuss your legal matter.
New Jersey follows a point system for speeding violations. The greater the speed, the greater the points and the deeper the impact on fines, insurance, and more. If you are caught speeding, it is important to have an experienced attorney plea bargain the ticket to avoid points. The New Jersey point system is as such:
- 2-point violation: 1-14 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 4-point violation: 15-30 miles per hour over the speed limit
- 5-point violation: 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
Reckless driving is a serious offense in the state of New Jersey. Those who drive with a disregard for others on the road in a willful and wanton manner could face a reckless driving ticket. Some of the offenses that may constitute reckless driving include:
- Willfully damaging property
- Speeding to a certain extent
Penalties for a reckless driving ticket vary and a second or subsequent violation escalates these ramifications. A person charged with reckless driving for the first time faces 5 points to their driving record, imprisonment up to 60 days, a maximum fine of $200, and a suspended license. A person caught a second or subsequent time faces a license suspension, fines up to $500, and jail time up to 90 days.
Cell phone violations
Driving while using a cell phone without the assistance of hands-free technology is an unlawful act. A cell phone violation used to constitute a small fine. Now, it is a serious offense with steep fines and the potential for points to one’s license. As of July 1, 2014, the penalties for a cell phone violation are as followed:
- First offense: A fine of $200-$400
- Second Offense: A fine of $400-$600
- Third Offense: $600-$800 and 3 points on one’s driving record
Points to one’s driving record can impact insurance premiums and subject a person to surcharges. In addition, a third cell phone violation comes with the possibility of a license suspension.
Driving without a license
It continues to be illegal to drive without a license in every state. When courts hear cases of driving without a license, the most serious offenses come from those who knowingly drive without a valid driver’s license because of revocation or suspension. A ticket for driving without a license comes with the possibility of a loss of driving privileges and fines starting at $500. If you are caught driving without a license due to a DUI conviction, you face a mandatory revocation of your license for up to 2 years, state surcharges of $250 per year for 3 years, and jail time up to 90 days.
Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney
A traffic violation can impact your future. Many of these offenses can be plea bargained down to avoid points. Our firm is comprised of effective and experienced attorneys. Over the years, we have helped countless clients through matters involving traffic violations. If you need our help, contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. for a consultation.