Monmouth County Gun Possession Attorneys
Defending Clients Facing Illegal Gun Possession Charges
New Jersey’s gun laws are tough and continue to progress as the years pass. If you are charged with a gun crime, you face serious consequences that can impact your future. Many of these charges come with imprisonment and a criminal record. The degree of crime varies depending on the circumstances of the arrest and the firearm in one’s possession. If you are charged with the illegal possession of a firearm, you need to consult with an attorney. Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. has fought for clients facing criminal charges since 1993. If you need effective criminal defense, contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. for a consultation.
NJ gun laws
New Jersey gun laws are some of the most stringent in the country. One must possess a permit to purchase firearms in New Jersey. For long guns, including rifles and shotguns, one must possess a lifetime purchaser identification card. For handguns, one must acquire a permit to purchase, valid for only 90 days. Permits are a de facto registration, so formal registration of firearms is redundant and voluntary.
One must purchase firearms from a licensed dealer or a resident of the state. The New Jersey State Police Firearms Investigation Unit holds a record of all handgun transfers, with some exceptions. These include inherited firearms willed to a transferee and firearms brought into the state by new residents.
Carry permits, open or concealed, are rarely given to the public and are saved for people that can establish an urgent necessity for self-protection. Effectively, New Jersey is a “no issue” state.
In addition, New Jersey bans assault rifles, except for those acquired before May 1, 1990. Those are registered and are legal to possess. Additionally, there are limits on magazine rounds and NFA regulations that should be considered as well.
NJ Gun Crime Penalties
Illegal possession of a gun in New Jersey is a crime equaling the consequences of a felony in other states. It is important to consider the crime and what effects it may have on your future.
- Illegal possession of a machine gun or handgun is a second-degree crime
- Illegal possession of an assault rifle is a second-degree crime
- Illegal possession of a rifle or shotgun is a third-degree crime
- Illegal possession of an air gun, spring gun or a weapon of a similar nature is a crime of the third degree
If you are charged with illegal possession of a gun, you may be facing a jail sentence. A second-degree crime comes with a jail sentence of between 5 and 10 years. Crimes of the third degree can come with a jail sentence between 3 to 5 years.
Contact an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney
The gun laws of New Jersey are more complicated than we put forth and deserve the attention of an experienced criminal defense attorney. If you are caught with a firearm in the commission of a crime, you face even further consequences. If you have been charged with a gun crime, contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. for the legal defense you need.