Law enforcement in New Jersey patrol the state’s roads and highways to ensure that drivers and passengers alike are safe. Those who fail to drive safely may face serious consequences that can have lasting impacts. When you are issued a ticket in New Jersey, you may receive points on your license. These points can ultimately result in higher monthly insurance premiums and may even cause you to lose your driver’s license if you accrue too many.
Undoubtedly, the most common traffic violation seen throughout New Jersey and the rest of the country is speeding. If you are going up to 14 mph over the speed limit, you will receive 2 points on your license. You will receive 4 points for going 15-30 miles per hour over the speed limit and 5 points for driving 30 mph over the speed limit.
Worse than a speeding violation in New Jersey is a reckless driving ticket. This charge can consist of any type of driving that can be considered driving with complete disregard for the safety of others on the road. This is largely up to the discretion of the law enforcement officer that issues you the ticket. For example, if you are driving 50 miles per hour over the speed limit or you are swerving in and out of traffic, you may be issued a ticket for reckless driving. Nevertheless, a ticket of this type should not be taken lightly. First-time offenders may face 5 points on their license, time in jail, fines, and a suspended license.
If you have been issued a speeding ticket or a reckless driving ticket, you should consult with an experienced attorney.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel in New Jersey, please contact Tomes Law Firm, PC and we will be happy to assist you.