When you are arrested in New Jersey with a charge related to marijuana, you are likely facing harsh penalties. Of course, like any other drug charge, you will face more severe penalties depending on the amount of drugs found in your possession. Additionally, if you are found to have possession with intent to distribute, there are far worse consequences that you will face. When charged with intent to distribute marijuana, you will need a strong criminal defense attorney to assist you in trying to lessen your consequences.
Depending on your charge, you can face anything from a disorderly persons charge to several years of jail time. The way New Jersey determines your charge is by the weight of marijuana you are found with. If you are charged with the distribution of less than one ounce, it is considered a crime and you will face 1.5 years in jail and a maximum fine of $25,000. On a more extreme end of the spectrum, distribution of 25 pounds or more of marijuana can cost you a $300,000 fine as well as anywhere from a minimum of 10 years incarceration all the way up to 20 years. It is also important to note that if you are arrested within 1,000 feet of a school or school bus, you may also be subject to an additional 3-5 years of jail time and a $150,000 fine.
In the event that you are charged with the distribution of marijuana, it is of the utmost importance to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. A good attorney may be able to aid you in reducing your charges, fines, and jail time.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters of personal injury, medical malpractice, medical device injuries, unsafe drug injuries, consumer protection, bankruptcy, SSD, or criminal law in New Jersey, please contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. and we will be happy to assist you.