Marijuana possession is a highly contested matter and although some states are moving towards legalization, New Jersey is not one of them. Many people throughout New Jersey will head down the shore this Fourth of July Weekend and hopefully, stay out of trouble. However, if you are arrested for the possession of marijuana, here are a few things to know.
Five of the top six towns for marijuana possession arrests in New Jersey are Shore towns. These include Seaside Park, Ship Bottom, Beach Haven, North Wildwood, and Neptune City. The number of marijuana possession arrests is on the rise in New Jersey and law enforcement is sure to be extra vigilant during a holiday weekend. If you are arrested for marijuana possession, you are going to need to retain the services of a local criminal defense attorney who can effectively represent you.
The penalties for possession of marijuana in New Jersey are as follows:
- 50 grams or less: disorderly person’s offense, up to 6 months of imprisonment, and a maximum fine of $1,000
- 51 grams or more: crime in the fourth degree, up to 18 months of imprisonment, and a maximum fine of $25,000
- If you were arrested within 1,000 feet of a school, you will face an additional 100 hours of community service and extra fines
If you are arrested for the possession of marijuana in New Jersey, contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. for strong legal representation that will fight to secure your future.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters of personal injury, medical malpractice, medical device injuries, unsafe drug injuries, consumer protection, bankruptcy, SSD, or criminal law in New Jersey, please contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. and we will be happy to assist you.