Everyone knows that smoking cigarettes is bad for you but that doesn’t stop over a million New Jersey residents from doing so. If this is a choice you want to make, there’s no one who is going to stop you from doing so. However, if you are under the age of 21 on November 1, New Jersey will no longer sell you cigarettes or other tobacco products because of a recent change in law . There are only 3 states in the country that raised the age of tobacco sales to 21 years old. Other than New Jersey, California and Hawaii have also raised the age.
This decision has been seen as controversial among many of New Jersey’s residents. It is certainly no surprise that of course, those 19 and 20-year-olds who smoke don’t like the new law because they were once allowed to purchase cigarettes and no longer will be able to. The state wants to make it harder for young people to access tobacco products because of the serious damage to health that it causes.
It is also important to note that this new law applies to e-cigarettes as well, which are increasingly popular among young people. Those who sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21 will be subject to fines.
If you have questions about the change in tobacco regulations in New Jersey, contact an attorney today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters of personal injury, medical malpractice, medical device injuries, unsafe drug injuries, consumer protection, bankruptcy, SSD, or criminal law in New Jersey, please contact Tomes Law Firm, PC and we will be happy to assist you.