When an individual makes the decision to get behind the wheel of a car after they have been drinking, they are putting the lives of themselves and others at risk. As a result, New Jersey has imposed harsh penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol. If a person is pulled over by law enforcement and the officer conducts a field sobriety test that indicates intoxication, they may then conduct a blood alcohol content test. If the driver’s blood alcohol content is 0.08 or above, they may be arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol.
Some of the penalties associated with a first offense driving under the influence charge includes a license suspension for 90 days, several hours of participation at the intoxicated driver resource center, a New Jersey motor vehicle surcharge of $1,000 each year for three consecutive years, and a variety of other fees and fines. Of course, if the driver has one or more prior DUI convictions on their record over the last 10 years, they may be faced with even more serious penalties. In some cases, a driver may even be required to install an ignition interlock device, which requires the driver to take a breath test each time they start the car.
If you have been arrested on DUI charges, contact our firm today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters of personal injury, medical malpractice, medical device injuries, unsafe drug injuries, consumer protection, bankruptcy, SSD, or criminal law in New Jersey, please contact Tomes Law Firm, PC and we will be happy to assist you.