In the event that you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in New Jersey, it is important that you make yourself aware of the consequences you will face upon a conviction. Those who have been charged with a first offense DUI can expect to face serious repercussions. Penalties for driving while intoxicated are determined based upon the blood alcohol content that the driver had upon the time of the incident.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent, you will face multiple penalties. These penalties include 3 months without a driver’s license, up to 30 days of imprisonment, and between 12 and 48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center. In addition, you will be required to pay a $1,000 surcharge each year for 3 years, $100 to the drunk driving fund, $230 to the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center, a fine between $250 and $400, and more.
When your blood alcohol content reads 0.10 percent or greater on a first offense DUI, you will face even further consequences. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 7-12 months, you will spend up to 30 days in prison, and between 12 and 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center. In addition, you will have to pay the same fines as previously stated for BAC’s of .08 or higher. However, the fine is increased to between $300 and $500.
If your BAC was 0.15 percent or higher, you will have to install an ignition interlock device throughout the time that your license is suspended and an additional 6-12 months after it has been restored.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, contact our firm today.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters of personal injury, medical malpractice, medical device injuries, unsafe drug injuries, consumer protection, bankruptcy, SSD, or criminal law in New Jersey, please contact Tomes Law Firm, PC and we will be happy to assist you.