If an individual in New Jersey is charged with shoplifting, they need to speak with an attorney as soon as possible because they face significant penalties. At Tomes & Hanratty, P.C., clients who come to us with a shoplifting charge should be sure to bring as much information as they can pertaining to the incident. Clients should make sure to have their ticket and be able to explain exactly what happened. Of course, our firm will be able to discuss the specifics of your case. However, here is a good idea of the possible penalties that someone convicted of a shoplifting charge may face in New Jersey.
A stolen item valued at less than $200 is only a disorderly conduct matter and will be handled in municipal court. There is a maximum fine of up to $1000 and a maximum of up to 6 months in jail.
The more serious cases that are held in the criminal division of County Court are as follows:
- A stolen item valued between $200 and $500 is a 4th degree crime with a fine of up to $10,000 and a maximum of 18 months in jail
- A stolen item valued over $500 and less than $75,000 is a 3rd degree crime, punishable by a maximum fine of up to $15,000 and 3-5 years in jail
- A stolen item valued over $75,000 is a 2nd degree crime, punishable by a fine of up to $150,000 and 5-10 years in jail.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters of personal injury, medical malpractice, medical device injuries, unsafe drug injuries, consumer protection, bankruptcy, SSD, or criminal law in New Jersey, please contact Tomes & Hanratty, P.C. and we will be happy to assist you.