With the upcoming holiday weekend, people have more time to relax and enjoy time with friends and family. Most people have a three-day weekend to get a last beach trip in for the summer or a short vacation. College students are heading back to school and celebrating the beginning of a new school year while ending the summer with some fun. Whether you are going to a barbecue for the end of the summer or casually hanging out with friends, remember to drink responsibly and have a designated driver lined up.
In New Jersey, the holiday weekend results in the attention of more police forces due to the increase in alcohol consumption and the possibility of more drunk driving. For those who are 21 years of age or older, their blood alcohol content level cannot exceed 0.08%. A breathalyzer test can be used to prove that your blood alcohol content provides evidence of intoxication. Those who are under the legal drinking age are not allowed to exhibit a BAC due to the fact that they are legally not allowed to drink. If you find that you are charged with a DWI, you should seek legal counsel to provide the proper representation to protect you.
Drivers who are caught under the driving while intoxicated can face a variety of penalties. This may include multiple fines, incarceration and license suspension. Offenders may also be required to spend a certain number of hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. If the number of offenses increases, there may be an increase in fines, jail time and license suspension. Those who are found with a blood alcohol content level that is over 0.10% upon arrest can face even greater consequences. This applies to those who are only facing a first offense, too. Due to the increased level of intoxication, the consequences are greater. This can be labeled as aggravated DWI.
When drivers are caught with a blood alcohol content level that is over 0.15%, they may be required to install an ignition interlock device in any car they drive during the license suspension and for six to 12 months after the suspension. The installation cost is on the individual to pay for themselves. If drivers continue to be caught driving under the influence, penalties continue to grow more life-altering. Being caught driving under the influence within 10 years of your first conviction can lead to greater penalties and consequences. By being caught a third time within 10 years of your second conviction, you may face growing consequences. This may include up to 180 days in jail and license suspension for 10 years.
If you are in need of experienced legal counsel for matters of personal injury, medical malpractice, medical device injuries, unsafe drug injuries, consumer protection, bankruptcy, SSD, or criminal law in New Jersey, please contact Tomes Law Firm, PC and we will be happy to assist you.